Meet the Cast! Ann Brandman as Lady Boyle in TAG’s “Superior Donuts”

Ann BrandmanThe Actors’ Group is proud to showcase some of Honolulu’s finest talent! Meet Ann Brandman.
Ann Brandman (Lady Boyle) won Po‘okela Awards for Best Leading Actress for TAG’s The Heiress and HSF’s Henry VI, and Best Featured Actress for Richard III. She performed in HSF’s Henry V, and played “Lear” in the all-female repertory Lear/Shrew/Much Ado. She recently played “Golde” in HPU’s Fiddler on the Roof and Mrs. Dubose in To Kill a Mockingbird at Diamond Head Theatre. Other credits include DHT’s Leading Ladies and I Hate Hamlet, HPU’s House of Blue LeavesThe Vagina Monologues at Marks Garage, The Book of Ezekiel in NYC, and Hayfever in London. Ann trained at the Actor’s Studio in New York and with Clare Davidson in London.
We talked with Ann about her character and acting, and here’s what she had to say:
I auditioned for Lady Boyle having this year already portrayed an old and dying man – King Lear for Hawai‘i Shakespeare Festival, and an elderly and dying woman – Mrs. Dubose in To Kill a Mockingbird for Diamond Head Theatre. Not that I want to be typecast as decrepit – but I’ve learned a lot about aging from my mother, who died at 89 in 2004.

I also learned an important aspect of the character of Lady from my mum: one of her favorite expressions was “what’s on my lung is on my tongue.” Ro (as I called her) didn’t shrink from anything – sometimes to the chagrin of her mortified daughters. She was probably the most authentic (and funny) person I’ve ever known. Being British (and a war bride to America after the London Blitz), she had what’s called “pluck.” I’d like to think Lady Boyle has some of that as well. Audacious and annoying, but full of heart and humor, Lady is a survivor of the ups and downs of life – a human being with an almost Zen-like detachment.

Approaching the character, I found that Lady’s “voice” appeared almost immediately. Usually, as I’m memorizing lines, a character will present herself (or himself for HSF) somewhere along the way.  But Lady came out fast and full throttle – to the extent that I questioned her veracity. But no matter what, I couldn’t get the genie back in the bottle – so Lady is who she is…still. And I’m fond of her for her tenacity…and hope that audiences will like her too.

——–

Superior Donuts will be running May 8-31, 2015.  Go to http://www.taghawaii.net or call 808-722-6941 for tickets.  Seats are going fast already!  This should be another great show.

Leave a Reply

