Meet Jerry Altwies – Playing Ethan Goldklang in Storefront Church at TAG

Gerald Altwies Aloha Friends! We are off and running with our new 2015-2016 season at The Actors’ Group, in a bright and shinny new renovated theatre.  We are excited to start off this season with Storefront Church by John Patrick Shanley.

Today we are highlighting cast member Jerry Altwies, who plays Ethan Goldklang.

About Jerry Altwies
Jerry has been married to the love of his life, Frances for fifty years, he has three children, and ten grandchildren. Currently, Jerry is living in Honolulu with his wife and his daughter’s family. When asked about life at home, Jerry told me:

“We average seven to twelve people living in the house at any given time. We are a ‘Waldorf’ family, so our young ones have little to no screen time by most standards, which translates into a house full of active folks. [We] spend a great deal of time involved in imaginative and physical activities.”

Jerry, How did you get into theatre?

“I’m actually part of a theatrical family succession of three generations of actors. My father and mother met when he played in a high school theatrical production, my son is a successful actor in Seattle, my daughter has won Po’okelas for her stage work here, and I’m a Johnny-come-lately after-thought on the stage.  Acting and singing became my avocation when I retired in 2001. Choral singing prior to that led me to Musicals and eventually speaking roles. I’m (wisely) not in theatre for fame, fortune or glory. I simply enjoy the work it takes to be a contributing member of an ensemble that tells good stories to audiences. I believe human interaction of this type to be a significant contribution in an effort to balance the many virtual experiences we are subjected to today. Today, as in ancient times, theatre is therapy. I’m a theatrical thespian therapist! – on my good days. As it turns out, theatre people from every category are often the most interesting people I know and I am grateful to be part of Honolulu’s theatre community.”

Jerry, can you tell us a bit about your character?

“My character is Ethan Goldklang, a threadbare, elderly, Jewish accountant who has spent his life schlocking and schlepping in an effort to keep his life together. My fundamental philosophy is based on the goodness of people but my great frustration results from continually being disappointed by their behavior, especially in the business world. Born only months after the end of WWII, I eked out a life and education in war-torn Europe, arrived in America during a time of great social unrest, married a black woman and continued to eke. The intriguing aspect of my character is his belief in the dignity of people and his desire to do good.”

Thank you Jerry Altwies!  We look forward to seeing your work on stage for The Actors’ Group.

_____
Storefront Church is running from September 4 – 20th, 2015.  Click here to reserve your tickets online or call to make reservations at 808-722-6941. The Actors’ group is located at Dole Cannery Square in Honolulu, HI.

2014-2015 Fund Drive Campaign
Please don’t forget, TAG is still in the midst of their 2014-2015 Fund Drive Campaign.  Help us reach our $100,000.00 goal! Donate online by clicking this link, or send your tax deductible donation to:

TAG – The Actors’ Group, 650 Iwilei Rd, Suite 101, Honolulu, HI 96817

Mahalo!

TAG

Leave a Reply

