Meet David Starr as Reed Van Druyten in TAG’s presentation of “Storefront Church”

David StarrAloha Friends! We are off and running with a new season, in a newly renovated theatre. TAG is excited to start off this season with Storefront Church by John Patrick Shanley.

David, it is GREAT to have you back at TAG, where you were last seen playing Vanya in Vanya and Sonia and Masha and Spike. I did not get a chance to speak with you during that production, and so I wanted to take a few minutes today and get to know you a little better. Can you tell all of us a little bit about yourself and your life?

I’m a transplanted New Yorker since 1997, and am still adjusting to the new world of Oahu.  When I can’t get someone to drive me to a destination, I walk/ride my bike/take the bus.  One day I will pass my road test. Creative expression is my thing, also communion with nature and the arts.  I’ve lived in Waikiki, Mo’iliili, Kakaako, and Punchbowl.  I currently live in Kalihi.  I go to museums and movies, and sometimes on Sundays I go to the Aloha Stadium Flea Market and Kam Swap Meet.  I worked as a waiter at The Plaza Club, and at the Sunset Grill and Tower Grill Restaurants.  Now I just wander around, hoping for a good part.

David, how did you get into theatre?
Back in 1987 in New York, a friend of mine channeled a spirit guide who told me that acting would be a very creatively rewarding pursuit for me, and that I would find it to be more accessible than I thought.  So I went to my first audition and got cast in my first acting role as a police officer in a show called “The Old Merry-Go-Round”.  That started the ball rolling for me and I’ve been acting ever since.
Wow! That’s really cool. It’s amazing, all the different experiences that brings the theater community together. We all take many different journeys from our everyday life, to our life on the stage. I guess that’s what makes our Theater community so very special. And, like many other actors, I am sure you pull from yourself when you bring your characters to life. Can you tell us a little bit about your character and what intrigues your character:
I play Reed Van Druyten, a man who lost everything that was important to him – money and love and position and power, and now he struggles to go on without them.  It’s a meaty role and a great opportunity to explore and express the feelings of someone in these dark circumstances in the powerful scenes of John Patrick Shanley’s beautifully-written play.
Thank you so much David for taking the time out of your busy schedule to talk to us!
Folks, do not miss David Starr as Reed Van Druyten in Storefront Church! 

Storefront Church is running from September 4 – 20th, 2015.  Click here to reserve your tickets online or call to make reservations at 808-722-6941. The Actors’ group is located at Dole Cannery Square in Honolulu, HI. 

2014-2015 Fund Drive Campaign
Please don’t forget, TAG is still in the midst of their 2014-2015 Fund Drive Campaign.  Help us reach our $100,000.00 goal! Donate online by clicking this link, or send your tax deductible donation to:

TAG – The Actors’ Group, 650 Iwilei Rd, Suite 101, Honolulu, HI 96817

Mahalo!

TAG

Leave a Reply

