Meet Mary Ann Shirley-Gray as Jessie Cortez in TAG’s production of Storefront Church!

Mary Ann Shirley-GrayAloha friends of The Actors’ Group! Today I want to introduce Mary Ann Shirley-Gray, our leading lady in John Patrick Shanley’s Storefront Church. I have been lucky enough to volunteer at TAG with Mary Ann a few times, but until now I never had an opportunity to speak with her about her life.  I really enjoyed getting to know Mary Ann, and I know you will enjoy it as well!

Hello Mary Ann! We are excited to have you back on the stage with us at TAG!  Can you tell me a bit about yourself, where you are from, and a little about your family?

I am originally from Brooklyn, New York, and I now live in Mililani, Hawaii. on the island of Oahu. I am the mother of two wonderful daughter’s, Rachel 21 and Katie 26.  My husband’s name is Lee, and we have been married for 29 yrs.

Twenty-nine years!  Wow, that’s wonderful. There’s nothing like a rich family life, I truly believe that. I’m certain being a wife and mother kept you very busy, but did you have a career outside of that as well?

Yes, I just retired in July 2014 from the military after 20+ years of service both with active duty with the Army and Air Force Reserves as Medical Tech and EMT.

What an amazing career! With all that work, what did you do to relax?

My hobbies are gardening and working with the local theater groups in Hawaii.

Woot for theatre! It relaxes me as well.  How did you get into theatre, Mary Ann?

I got into theatre by volunteering at The Army Community Theatre, at Schofield Army Base.  It’s also where I met my husband.

I know you told me that you love playing Jessie Cortez in Storefront Church, and you find her an interesting character.  But in general, you find all aspects of theatre interesting, correct?  I mean, you have been in front of and behind the scenes. Can you give me an overview of your theatre credits here in Hawaii?

Well, I worked back stage at TAG for many years. My recent credits include being the Stage Manager for Hollywood Arms, Seven Guitars, Red, as well as for Vanya and Sonia and Masha and Spike. My acting credits include playing Viney in The Miracle Worker, and Miss Emma in A Lesson Before Dying both performed at TAG. At MVT I was Mildred in Dividing the Estate; I also has appeared in two episodes of LOST and a Hawaii University student film, Born in Hawaii. My most recent performance was in HPU production of You Can’t Take It With You as Reba.

Terrific Mary Ann, and we look forward to seeing you in Storefront Church, which is opening this week! Wow, time flies. Indeed folks, opening night is sold out, so you will want to grab up some seats for the rest of the run soon.  And Mary Ann, break a leg.


Storefront Church is running from September 4 – 20th, 2015.  Click here to reserve your tickets online or call to make reservations at 808-722-6941. The Actors’ group is located at Dole Cannery Square in Honolulu, HI. 

2014-2015 Fund Drive Campaign
Please don’t forget, TAG is still in the midst of their 2014-2015 Fund Drive Campaign.  Help us reach our $100,000.00 goal! Donate online by clicking this link, or send your tax deductible donation to:

TAG – The Actors’ Group, 650 Iwilei Rd, Suite 101, Honolulu, HI 96817

Mahalo!

TAG

Leave a Reply

