Meet the Cast of “Raisin in the Sun”: Katrina McIntosh

Meet Katrina McIntosh, playing Beneatha Younger in The Actors’ Group production of A Raisin in the Sun.

Katrina McIntoshHello Katrina!  Aloha and welcome to our blog space.  This is the first time we have had an opportunity to meet!  Can you tell me something about yourself that others might not know?

One thing that people may not know about me is that I can be a little shy sometimes.

You know, it’s interesting, but there are a lot of famous introverts out there: Emma Watson, Eleanor Roosevelt, Christina Aguilera, Rosa Parks, and Audrey Hepburn to name a few!  So you are in great company.  Is there anything special about this play that inspires you?

I’m not sure of the exact play that inspired me, but I’ve always been a fan of the arts. However, Raisin in the Sun inspires me to go after my dreams, even when they sound crazy to the next person.  It’s okay to dream and to follow them. Work to make them a reality.

So you have done acting before?  Great!  What was your favorite role to play?

I would have to say that so far this role as Beneatha is my favorite. It allows me to challenge myself and gives me room to grow as an actress. She is quite the character 🙂

Yes she is!  What do you hope audiences will get from your character and from this play?

What I hope the audience gets from this play… I hope through this [play] they understand the importance of family.  That even though you may not always agree, Love and support each other in the end. God has a way of working this go out. 🙂

That’s wonderful Katrina!  Thank you for taking the time to talk with me today!  We all look forward to seeing you as Beneatha!


A Raisin in the Sun at TAG

A Raisin in the Sun is running October 23 – November 15th. The theatre is located in the Dole Cannery, 650 Iwilei Road, Suite 101. Call 808-722-6941 for information and tickets. Tickets can also be obtained online at http://www.taghawaii.net

We look forward to seeing you there!

Leave a Reply

