Meet the Cast of “A Raisin in the Sun”: Carolyn Koehler

Carolyn KoehlerMeet Carolyn Koehler, the Assistant Director for The Actors’ Group production of A Raisin in the Sun.

Aloha Carolyn!  I am so glad you could take time from your schedule to meet with me today. Thank you.  Can you tell us something about yourself that people may not know?

I have worked with Brad Powell off and on for over 30 years.  We have so much fun together that we keep doing it over and over and over.

That is awesome!  I love Brad Powell – he is a lot of fun, and he has such a warm spirit.  Can you remind him that he needs to do an interview with me as well?!  LOL.  So if you have been working with Brad off and on for 30 years, you have logged a lot of time in the theatre.  What play first inspired you to become an actor, and to get involved in theatre?

The Unsinkable Molly Brown.

Oh, I LOVE that show. The 1964 movie with Debbie Reynolds is one of my very favorites.  I love it when she goes to France and is totally accepted by high society, even after being snubbed at home!  Great stuff. When I was touring Missouri in an RV, I had an opportunity to see the house that the real unsinkable Molly Brown grew up in Hannibal, MO.  It was a far cry from the house she lived while in Colorado! But I digress. Back to you!  So if The Unsinkable Molly Brown inspired you to get into the business, what was your favorite shows you worked on afterward, and why?

I actually have 3 favorites.  One was an original play by my friend Charlie Brockman titled Spies Over Honolulu. Charlie was a dear friend and he allowed me to co-direct with him. We had good friends in the cast and the plot had lots of crazy twists in it.  The second was Ain’t Misbehavin’ at DHT which, after the run at DHT, we toured to military bases in the South Pacific.  The last was Smokey Joe’s Café at MVT which I AD’d (Brad directed) in 2014.  This was my 1st show back after a long hiatus and it reminded me of how much I love the theatre and theatre people.

Well, we are all glad you are back, I am sure Brad is happy!  Let me finish up this interview about the show at hand, A Raisin in the Sun.  What’s inspires you about this play and What do you hope audiences will get out of this play?

[Inspirations:] The family unity.  [I hope audiences will take away that] doing the right thing is always the best choice, even though it may not seem so at first.

 Thank you so much, Carolyn, for all your hard work on this show, and past shows as well. We look forward to seeing you on opening night!


A Raisin in the Sun at TAG

A Raisin in the Sun is running October 23 – November 15th. The theatre is located at the Dole Cannery, 650 Iwilei Road, Suite 101. Call 808-722-6941 for information and tickets. Tickets can also be obtained online at http://www.taghawaii.net

We look forward to seeing you there!

Leave a Reply

