Meet the Cast “Ted the Poet” Guillory, as The American Dream

image1Aloha Friends, it is that time again where I get to introduce you to the cast and crew of the upcoming productions of The American Dream and The Zoo Story.
Re-meet dear Theodore “Ted the Poet” Guillory, Jr. You enjoyed him in Superior Donuts, and you get to see his fantastic work once again as The American Dream in The American Dream!
Ted, if you can, please give us a little bit of information about your work as an actor:
I’ve been cast in a few shows, including Ruined at UH Mānoa, Superior Donuts at TAG, and now The American Dream! Even though I’m just getting started with acting, I put my heart and soul into every performance. Aside from acting, I write and perform poetry and music, I model a little, and I study theatre at UH Mānoa. If you’d like to find out more about me, follow me on Instagram: @tedthepoet and subscribe to my YouTube channel: Ted the Poet.
I’ve been asking many of the cast members this year to share with us the craziest thing that’s ever happened to you on stage. I know that you have only been acting for a short period, but you’ve done some pretty incredible rolls. Anything particular interest there?
While I was in Ruined as a government soldier of the Democratic Republic of Congo, I was acting alongside my friend, who played a similar role. The play was set mainly in a bar, and there is a scene in which my friend gets angry, and smacks a pool ball on the pool table with his hand. During one performance, he decided instead to grab the ball and chuck it at an angle on the table. This caused the ball (which was a real pool ball) to soar into the audience, inches away from hitting a lady’s face in the front row. The room grew silent with fear, and the only sound was the pool ball slowly rolling and bouncing down the aisle. That was probably the hardest time I’ve ever had with staying in character. Luckily, she wasn’t hurt, and after the show, we talked to her and sincerely apologized.
OMG that was crazy and you must have been very worried. I had something similar happen to me with a raw chicken, but I’m going to share that when I write my own post! LOL.
Another thing people always ask actors is this: how do you memorize your lines? I have a whole crazy process down. What do you do?
I memorize my lines like I memorize my poetry and music. I get them stuck in my head like a catchy song on the radio. If you repeat something in your head enough times, whether in the shower, walking down the street, during rehearsal, or right before you fall asleep at night, chances are you won’t forget it. I also set time aside each day to go through every line, first piece by piece, and then all at once, as if I’m on stage. With these rituals, I’ve been able to memorize entire pieces of work in a month or less.
I’m going to end this interview by asking you if you have any advice for budding actors? You’ve been very successful since you have started, and I also know how dedicated you are. What would you say to a new performer just starting out?
Learn to breathe. Don’t let your nervousness stop you from breathing. Every performer has tensions and stress, and we relieve these with breathing exercises. If you say your lines on a calm exhale, with the right emotion, you can make it sound believable. If you say your lines while holding your breathe, or taking shallow breaths, the audience can hear it, and it sounds like a nervous person reciting lines. Don’t be a nervous person reciting lines. Be your character.
Thank you so much, Ted, for stopping by and talking to us here at TAG.
Trust me, folks; you are not going to want to miss his performance in the American dream, as The American Dream. I can guarantee you, The American Dream is indeed dreamy.

TAG, you’re it!

The world needs theatre and TAG needs you! 

An Evening with Edward Albee: The American Dream and The Zoo Story runs May 6th through the 29th. Tickets can be purchased online at http://www.taghawaii.net or 808-722-6941

Leave a Reply

